Why I am renewing my ACES membership

aces
Editors gathered in Portland, Oregon, in March 2016 for the national conference of the American Copy Editors Society. The 2017 conference will be in St. Petersburg, Florida.

I just renewed my membership to the American Copy Editors Society. Here’s why:

  • ACES is growing. It has about 1,800 members, and the 2016 national conference drew a record number of attendees.
  • ACES is evolving. It includes editors of all kinds, not just those in news organizations. All are welcome.
  • ACES is increasing the value of scholarships for students interested in careers in editing.
  • ACES is expanding training through regional workshops, including one with a focus on digital skills.

If you’re an editor, I encourage you to become an ACES member. It’s a great community of people who love words and language. Join us!