Happy birthday, NewsU

Poynter’s News University, an e-learning site for journalists and other communicators, celebrates its 10th birthday this week. Hooray!

I have worked with NewsU when it was a toddler and I was a new faculty member at UNC-Chapel Hill. In August 2006, I saw a NewsU booth at the AEJMC conference in San Francisco and struck up a conversation with Vicki Krueger, who is now manager of NewsU. It was my first encounter with online education, and I quickly saw the power and effectiveness of this method of training and instruction.

Between then and now, I’ve worked with the NewsU crew to create a course on alternative story forms and contributed to a course on the fundamentals of editing. An all-new version of the ASF course will debut on the site this year. In 2013, I led a Webinar on headline writing for digital media.

I’ve also used several NewsU Webinars in my editing courses on topics such as verification and curation. My students learn a great deal from these guest speakers, and so do I.

To mark its birthday, NewsU will hold a Webinar on Friday called “NewsU at 10: Top Lessons from a Decade of E-Learning.” I’ll be there, and I look forward to celebrating the occasion with some virtual birthday cake.

Happy birthday, NewsU, and congratulations on 10 years of journalism education. Here’s to many more!