Is there still a place for print media in an editing course?

In my Advanced Editing class, I take a day at the end of the semester for a debriefing. We look back on our work on the Carrboro Commons and Durham VOICE websites as well as other assignments and discussions. It’s a chance for the students and me to talk, in an informal setting, about what they did and didn’t like about the course.

For the third consecutive year, I asked the students this week whether I should eliminate the portion of the course that focuses on print media and go exclusively digital. And for another year, the answer was a resounding no. The students said they valued the experience of editing, writing headlines and designing pages using InDesign and InCopy. After all, there are still jobs that require those skills.

Over the years, I have incrementally updated the syllabus to include more online editing. This semester, students used Storify for several assignments and wrote and edited posts for Triangle Wiki, a regional version of Wikipedia. (They said they especially enjoyed that assignment.) And each student wrote a guest post for this blog.

I’ll teach Advanced Editing again in spring 2014. Between now and then, I will think about how to add digital content while maintaining the print portion of the course. I’m open to suggestions.

One thought on “Is there still a place for print media in an editing course?

  1. They still need those skills (editing, writing headlines, and designing pages using InDesign) for online media, printed flyers for conferences, and marketing materials for sales people to hand out. Printed media isn’t dead yet. Maybe one more generation?

Comments are closed.