Moving on from the ACES board

The national conference of the American Copy Editors Society takes place this week in St. Louis. I’m taking a break from attending, and it’s the first time I will miss an ACES conference since 2005.

I’m also ending my time on the ACES Executive Committee. I’ve served two terms, and I like the idea of self-imposed term limits. I feel like I’ve done what I set out to do: establish a tighter connection between academia and the profession, and to give a voice to journalism education on the ACES board.

To that end, we created an award for research about topics affecting editing. ACES itself sponsored a study showing why editing matters to readers. Since I joined the executive committee in 2009, two more professors who teach editing have come on board. They will continue to foster the academic-professional relationship.

It’s been an honor to serve on the ACES board. I’ll continue to be an active member in the years to come, and I’ll follow this year’s conference on Twitter, Facebook and on the ACES site. I hope you will do the same.

3 thoughts on “Moving on from the ACES board

  1. Hey, hope you had a great weekend.

    Typos in 2nd par, 3rd sentence: I feel like I’ve done what set out what I set out to do: establish a tighter connection between academia and the profession, and to give a voice to journalism education on the ACES board.

    Jae Gravley jgravley@gmail.com

  2. It’s not going to be the same without you, Andy. We’re going to miss you in St. Louis (and on the board).

Comments are closed.