It will always be the St. Pete Times to me

by andybechtel

Today marks the debut of a newspaper in Florida. Well, it’s new at least in name.

The St. Petersburg Times is now the Tampa Bay Times. The newspaper announced the change a couple of months ago. Its leadership says that the new label better reflects its reach and scope.

When I first heard of the change, I had a flashback to the summer of 2007. I was in St. Petersburg for several days to work on a course for Poynter’s News University.

During my stay, I shopped for a souvenir for my son, and I picked up a piggy bank in the form of a newspaper vending machine. The newspaper portrayed on the bank is the St. Petersburg Times, and the bank sits on my son’s dresser to this day.

So while I wish the Tampa Bay Times well, the newspaper will always be the St. Pete Times to me. And you can take that to the bank.

