My favorite “Simpsons” headlines

by andybechtel

My 10-year-old son and I have been on a “Simpsons” kick lately. He’s nothing like Bart Simpson, and I’m not much like Homer. But we both enjoy the show’s humor and sensibility.

I was a big “Simpsons” fan in the 1990s, but I haven’t watched it regularly for the past 10 years. So I had forgotten how headlines play a role in many of the episodes.

Here are my favorites and the “publications” that ran them:

  • BUMBLEBEE MAN CAUGHT IN STING (Springfield Shopper)
  • SECOND HEADLINE LESS IMPORTANT, STUDIES SHOW (Springfield Shopper)
  • SQUIRREL RESEMBLING ABRAHAM LINCOLN FOUND (Springfield Shopper)
  • GABBO FABBO! KRUSTY RUSTY (Springfield Variety)
  • ZIRCONIA ZTOLEN!!! (Springfield Shopper)
  • BIGFOOT’S WIFE PLEADS: “CALL HIM HOMER!” (National Informer)
  • HO. J. SIMPSON TRIAL STARTS TODAY (Springfield Shopper)
  • AMERICA’S FAVORITE PENCIL: #2 Is #1 (US of A Today)
  • WACKO JACKO TO BLIMPO SIMPO: SELL ME YOUR BONES (The Mirror)
  • FEDS TO SIMPS: PAY UP! (Springfield Shopper)
  • LISA TO BURNS: “DROP DEAD!” (The Red Dress Press)
  • BART TO MARTIN: “EAT MY SHORTS” (Daily Fourth Gradian)
  • SPRINGFIELD SHOPPER PURCHASED BY EVIL NICE CULT (Springfield Shopper)

See these and more “Simpsons” headlines in this YouTube video.

