A colleague passes on

Bob Stevenson, a professor at the UNC journalism school, has died. Here’s how Jean Folkerts, the dean, announced his passing:

The School and Journalism and Mass Communication has lost a dear friend, and our field has lost a renowned scholar. Robert L. Stevenson, a Kenan professor and a member of our faculty since 1975, suffered a heart attack and died Saturday afternoon.

The School will host a memorial service for Bob, and he will be buried in his native Wisconsin. Please watch our Web site for details.

I took Stevenson’s research methods class in the fall of 1991. The course helped me become more analytical in my editing, and thanks to him, I am able to easily detect faulty surveys and other bogus research.

Thank you, Bob.

2 thoughts on “A colleague passes on

  1. Shockingly sad. I was a visitng scholar at UNC in 1994/1995 and Bob was my advisor and help every time I needed it.
    My condolences.

    darek klimczak

Comments are closed.